28 Most Iconic Feminist Moments of 2013

In the midst of reading period I don’t have time to write a full post, but I thought you’d all be interested to check this out: 28 Most Iconic Feminist Moments of 2013.

What do you think of the choices? Do you any of them resonate with you particularly? I like #21, a shout-out to our very own Elizabeth Warren! Anything or anyone that you don’t see on this list that you would have liked to see? What is a feminist moment to you? Do you think these encapsulate some of the different feminisms we have discussed?

4 thoughts on “28 Most Iconic Feminist Moments of 2013

  1. Below is a repost of a comment I posted FB earlier, after a friend posted this link (the comment before mine was opposed to the “Milkshake” reference in #21 re: Warren.

    “While the Kelis reference doesn’t really phase me, the use of the Blurred Lines parody caused me to delete the re-tweet I’d initially gone for with this story. Objectification in reverse is just not the solution to the endemic rape culture that Thicke personifies (and that you could fairly argue Kelis is complicit in).

    I also think that it is a more than a teeeny bit disingenuous to use her image and say that Bey came out as a proud feminist when what she actually said was, “I guess I am a modern-day feminist. I do believe in equality. Why do you have to choose what type of woman you are? Why do you have to label yourself anything? I’m just a woman and I love being a woman.”

    The truth is (and as much as I love my amazing Policy Mic editor friend, if she is reading this) they are hunting for clicks with this one.”

    • Thanks for commenting; I actually blocked out the Kelis reference when I saw the Elizabeth Warren post; I was surprised to say the least.

      In regards to Beyonce, I think she’s a good example of what we talked about in class, of both the plurality of feminism and the various (some not so great) perceptions of feminism, the latter making many women afraid to identify with it, which I think is why Beyonce chooses to say, “modern-day feminist.” So in that respect, I definitely know what you mean about Beyonce not exactly coming out as a proud feminist, when she obviously fears being tied to that label. I chose the pic for clicks too. Everyone seems to love Queen Bey.

  2. Pingback: 28 Most Iconic Feminist Moments of 2013 | Stephen Darori on Iconic Photography

Comments are moderated. If you don't see your comment now, don't worry. It's in the pipe!

