Why I’ll never write Strong Female Characters

I came across this post, and I thought it made an interesting read. I’m taking Fiction Writing I this semester and I found that most of my main characters were women (I have very few male characters, even in minor roles). The moment I realised this, I started over-scrutinizing my characterization. In my last assignment, I had an HIV-positive woman and I had to write in how she got infected. I’m still editing because I really don’t want her to be a sex worker.

nerdyshygirl

I’ve always felt uncomfortable with the concept of Strong Female Characters, but I’ve never brought it up, because as someone who breaks into random fits of feminism, I thought it went against everything I stood for to “not get” Strong Female Characters.

Alright, I’m being a little too diplomatic here. I dislike Strong Female Characters. I won’t go as far as to say I hate them, but chances are, if your MC is a Strong Female Character, I’m going to find another book/movie/tv show/operatic epic rap-poem. And I can guarantee you, I’ll never write one.

Let me be clear, I hope all my female characters are strong. In fact, you might call them strong female characters. But I hope you never call them Strong Female Characters–at least to my face.

The problem is: SFCs are a trope–and a dangerous one at that–and I want my characters to be more than…

View original post 766 more words

One thought on “Why I’ll never write Strong Female Characters

Comments are moderated. If you don't see your comment now, don't worry. It's in the pipe!

