The Color Purple: negotiating the mind and body under oppression

the color purple

My video essay aims to highlight the negotiation of the mind and body under oppression, an aspect of the film I felt was the most powerful (and painful). In sections of the film we see the body language of Celie and Sophia express the desire to fight, run, and even laugh, as the mind suppresses those feelings. These are the moments I have tried to highlight in my video.

Do you think I have accomplished my aim? Are there any scenes I should have added or omitted? I’m interested in any feedback, including technical critiques!

Comments are moderated. If you don't see your comment now, don't worry. It's in the pipe!

