“Whore”.

Red-Lights-District

While reading the post “My Problem with Rashida’s Tweet: #stopactinglikewhores”, I started thinking about the word ‘whore’. Is there really anything wrong with being a whore? By whore I mean the most basic connotation of the word, a person who receives currency in exchange for performing a deed of a certain sexual nature.

I remember in high school I got into an argument with one of my friends on whether or not prostitution should be legal. My friend was appalled that I was not wholly opposed to legal prostitution. My reasoning was that if a person wants to do something with their body and they are not  infringing on anyone’s (constitutional) rights (Locke’s version: life, liberty and property-not Jefferson’s epicurean revision), then they should be able to do so without repercussions.

I have a hard time making up my mind about it now and I begin to fall into the dilemma of the dominant feminist ideology. Would legal prostitution just feed into the socialization of women as sexual objects or should it not matter because it should be the woman’s choice? By taking this choice away from women aren’t we reproducing the idea that women need to be protected?

While I reject the notion that women are only sexual objects, I do not believe that there is something inherently wrong with exchanging sex for money. It is a physical act of labor that certain individuals would pay to have carried out.

Prostitution is just a profession. I do not see how one could act like a prostitute without actually doing their job. If one refers to prostitution or being a ‘whore’ in terms of making oneself into a sexual object, I also disagree with that. People cannnot make themselves into a sexual object. Others make people into sexual objects. Prostitutes should be faulted for the shortcomings of others.

Obviously, nothing is that simple. With prostitution, legal or not, comes the risk of human trafficking and forced prostitution. Amsterdam has had some success with this but has been cracking down after reports of increased human trafficking in countries where prostitution had been decriminalized according to this article. This only adds to my mixed feelings.

All in all , as Joshua Cruz cites in his article, I believe Metje Blaak (leader of ‘Vakbond Vakwerk’, the labor union for sex workers in the red light district) said it best, “If you disrespect prostitutes, you disrespect all women”.

3 thoughts on ““Whore”.

  1. Pingback: Kat Stacks and Response to “Whore” | Girlpower

  2. Pingback: JoyFul Sub

Comments are moderated. If you don't see your comment now, don't worry. It's in the pipe!

