Engagement Chicken?

About a week ago, I was perusing a food blog that I occasionally look at. In the ‘Community’ section of the blog, someone was asking about recipes that could be made on a first date. The gender of the person was unclear, but they said that they weren’t interested in ‘engagement chicken.’ I was intrigued by the title, thinking it might be chicken to be made for a grand festivity. But when I looked it up, I found chicken that is actually meant to help you get engaged.

Introducing Glamour’s Engagement Chicken.

First comes chicken, then comes marriage? Be skeptical if you must, but this recipe may be charmed. It all began 26 years ago, when then-Glamour fashion editor Kim Bonnell gave the recipe to her assistant, Kathy Suder, who made the chicken for her boyfriend, who, a month later, asked her to marry him. “It’s a meal your wife would make. It got me thinking,” says Jon Suder, who now has three children with Kathy. Details of the simple dish passed from assistant to assistant like a culinary chain letter. When Bonnell heard that her recipe had inspired three weddings, she dubbed it Engagement Chicken. Try the recipe, give it to a friend—oh, and let us know when it works!

The recipe itself is pretty standard–what is interesting to me are the comments.

CSULBTammy: “I made this for my then-boyfriend of only two months, on 2/10/2012, because it sounded delicious. Three months later, on 5/18/2012, he proposed and is now my husband.”
ADRURY1: “Ummn definitely made this just because I thought it was a good recipe, had no alterior motives, 2 hours later he proposed!!!”
HCP1982: “I have been with my man for 8 years and have been waiting for my ring! I found this recipe and tore it out of the magazine. A week later I made it and waited and waited. Two months went by and I thought this does not work but then this past weekend I got my ring! Turns out he bought the ring the day after I tore out the recipe!! I had also given a copy of the recipe to my friend who has been waiting 6 years, 4 days later she was engaged!!”
LolaInHeels: “Too bad this isn’t vegetarian friendly.”

The way that the recipe is written is completely steeped in gender roles, not that I would necessarily expect much different from magazines like Glamour. It’s easy to be supersitious, but I wonder what leads some of these women to think that a chicken is the the only reason that the guy they’re seeing might propose to them.

2 thoughts on “Engagement Chicken?

  1. Pingback: When Will He Propose? | Girlpower

Comments are moderated. If you don't see your comment now, don't worry. It's in the pipe!

