The interpellation of male bodies as unrape-able

The interpellation of male bodies as unrape-able

We know some of the behavioral signals that occur when girls have been raped. Depression, promiscuity, unexplained anger, anxiety. These are words we use when we describe the ways victims behave. It’s interesting that I have seen these same symptoms in young boys—alongside me in class when I was a child, in boyfriends as I got older, in men beside me on the bus in Chicago—yet no one looks at male anger and male promiscuity as symptoms of anything. These are just classic male behaviors. “Boys will be boys,” and boys sleep around. Boys have bad tempers. Right?

-Olivia A Cole

Considering how often rape cases of females influx our news, why is it that the male cases never really come through the same way.

chrisbrown3

In Olivia Cole’s article, she comments on Chris Brown’s perspective of his  first sex experience. Like most men I know, he seemed undisturbed by an details of his first sex experience. In my experience, the focus is usually on two things a) The fact that he had sex 2) The fact that it was with a girl. Those two things usually make all the difference whenever I speak with boys who recall their first sex experience with an older girl (usually).

Whenever I hear of male rape cases in a serious and sad atmosphere,  it usually happens to be rape by another man.Indeed, maybe there are just fewer cases if women raping men? I’m unsure.

Could it also be that the men don’t recognize sexual assault by women as rape because the male body is interpellated as subject and never object. Therefore, it might be harder to imagine oneself as a victim when everyone else convinces his maleness is manifested through his body’s strength to control his physical surroundings.

You should read Olivia Cole’s blog about the assault of men for a longer conversation.

3 thoughts on “The interpellation of male bodies as unrape-able

  1. Just a question — considering the post uses Chris Brown’s recent interview to make a larger point, why did you not mention his name at all?

    • Thank you for the comment. However, my post was on my thoughts about the broader interpellation on male bodies as a whole. She did use Chris Brown for her analysis but nothing about his situation struck me as different from every other male I have in mind. Also, I wasn’t looking for a specific case to make an analysis of so I stayed away from specific scenarios/people.

Comments are moderated. If you don't see your comment now, don't worry. It's in the pipe!

